My water is confusing me

Erica0107

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Ok....so before I had my water test kits I got it in my head that I was going to have South American/Amazon fish species, which meant soft acidic water. So I got my API Master test kit and found out that I have a high pH....straight out of the tap it was over 8. Right now I've got a bucket of water Im letting sit with an airstone so we'll see what it is tomorrow. At this time I didn't have a GH/KH test kit, but I assumed my water would be quite hard since high pH and hard water tend to go together. Well, I just got my GH/KH test stuff, and my first attempt at testing it shows that the water is soft....KH 3 or 4....GH 7. I had planned on using peat or R/O water when I assumed the water was hard, but what do I do now just to lower the pH? Wouldn't peat or R/O also make it too soft?

catsma_97504

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Welcome to Fishlore Erica!

No, you do not need to worry about adjusting the pH to keep SA species. Just acclimate them slowly. If you add driftwood or use peat then your pH will go down slowly over time, naturally.

Are you planning on having plants? What type of lighting? The reason I ask, by adding CO2, your pH will again drop naturally.

Regardless of how you set up your tank, please do not consider attempting to use chemicals to alter your pH.

Good luck with your new tank!

Erica0107

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
No...I wouldn't use chemicals. If I used peat though, will that make the water too soft? I don't won't the KH to drop anymore from where it is.

I don't plan on having live plants yet.

catsma_97504

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
No, I do not believe peat would make your water too soft. With a KH of 3-4, you will notice changes in your tank's pH when compared to your water source.

After your tank cycles, see where the pH is at. Then, decide if you want to use peat.

Erica0107

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year