My Water Fountain Idea

Triston Wasmund
We have this 20 gallon water fountain outside in our courtyard, hasn't been used I a while so I thought why not? I plan on putting my female Guppy in there along with some 5 week guppy fry, and then within a month add a pleco. There is a pump, that pumps the water to the top which then falls down. So not really a filter, but not too worried about it right now. I'm hopping the pump suction is not too strong and doesn't suck up fry but we will see. Will keep you guys updated. Please give me ANY TIPS you can, I need all the tips I can get. The thing does have a cover for the area the pump sets but I think I will leave it out.
IMG_1362.JPG
IMG_1363.JPG
IMG_1364.JPG
IMG_1367.JPG Side shot from the cover for the pump

Dotrenrew
Watching

Triston Wasmund
Culprit
Mabye try putting a large cell sponge in the hole where the water comes in?

Dotrenrew
Thanks for the input, lol

LOL, sorry, It's all I got. I'm still a noob at this whole fish thing. I just love your idea and hope it works out for you.

bitseriously
What climate? Expected temp variations?
Is it exposed to sun, or rain?

forestwind1234
If you have raccoons in the area they'll eat your fish..

Lorekeeper
Depending on where you live, you're going to need a very strong heater and/or chiller, along with a lid to keep predators away.

If you don't keep up with top offs, you'll have to deal with evaporation, or vice versa. If it rains too much, it could cause water quality swings as old water gets pushed out.

I like this project, but it's something I'd definitely try in a basement or something.

Culprit