My Very First Planted Tank

mattgirl

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Closer to Heaven every day but for now-Arkansas
Experience
More than 10 years
For years I had plastic and silk plants in my tanks. Last year I decided I wanted to expand my knowledge and learn how to care for live water plants. I have always had a green thumb when it comes to house and garden plants so thought this wouldn't be that difficult.

I was wrong. I killed a lot of plants until I found some that thrive in my water. This is my first attempt at an aqua-scaped tank with rocks and live plants in 5.5 gallon tank. The dual sponge is kinda an eye sore but eventually the plants should disguise it some.

5-5-gallon-tank-jpg.jpg

Attachments

StarGirl15

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
mattgirl said:
Well shoot. I don't really know why it isn't showing up for you

5.5 gallon tank.JPG

Can you see this one? I loaded it straight from my computer whereas I just did a copy and paste for the first one.
Yes! Very nice I wish my plants would grow faster!

OP
mattgirl

mattgirl

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
The water wisteria over on the right is growing very well. Iis already twice as tall as it was in that photo. The anacharis I have planted on each side of the filter are filling out and have already grown a few inches too.

The java fern up front isn't dying but isn't growing much yet. The dwarf sag on the left is growing well. Once everything gets well settled I am hoping this tank will be well filled in with its big variety of plants.

One day I want my 55 gallon tank to look like this one. It is going to take a lot of plants to accomplish that though. I have started by planting an amazon sword, some water wisteria and jungle val in there so far. It isn't picture worthy yet

StarGirl15

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
mattgirl said: