my poor common pleco

cory dawg

Reaction score
I woke up this morning and noticed that my common pleco was injured. He still seems very lively but I noticed he has been "cut" open and looks like he was nibbled on....I also do believe he is missing a fin now....What do I do?

Butterfly

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Since common Plecos are pretty well armored, what do you have in there that could do that much damage? or could he have gotten caught in some piece of equipment or decor? I would isolate him in anoter tank first thing, make sure his water is kept clean and he has plenty of food. Then watch for disease.
Carol

Butterfly

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Theres nothing there that could have injured him. Hum.... and chance it was equipment?
How is he today? Hope he's feeling better.
Carol

s2reii

Reaction score
Hey

I'm no expert but I have two common plecos... who kinda had a "cut" both in similar spots between the eye and gill... more like a spot and it looks really raw like someone had nibbled on it.. anyway sadly my large one died because I treated it too late (couldn't figure out what it was)

I went to my LFS and they told me about a natural medicine called "Melafix".. anyways it's brilliant, I'm not confident about ANY medications coz they never seem to work for me, but it fixed up the wound on my smaller common pleco in about one week. It started healing in about 3 days... by a week and a bit the skin was growing back.

Well goodluck with your fish... I really do love suckerfish hehe

s2reiI

OP
C

cory dawg

Reaction score
1.jpg

2.jpg

here are some pics...not the greatest....

Butterfly

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I love them too, I have 1- 8 in Rhino plec, 1- 6in albino Rhino plec(try saying that real fast!!), 1-6 in common plec, 11 bristlenose and 21 bristlenose fry.
By teh way I HAVE BRISTLENOSE FRY!!!!!
I had frogottenn to ell anyone