My Pea Puffer

jules426

I have had my pea puffer for about a week now and he has been very energetic. But now I have noticed he has been hanging around the top of the tank and it looks like he isn't moving or alive which he is. Could he possibly be sick or just resting?

kallililly1973

How long has your tank been set up and what size tank do you have.? Test your water to seeif there is any ammonia or nitrites. Usually when a fish hangs around the top they could be gasping for air if the water is off. Any pics?

jules426

I have had this tank for years and it's a 5 gallon. Yes here is a picture.

I also test the water every day and fix it if I needs it.

Minxxy

Is that fresh or brackish water?

jules426

It water from my sink. I am assuming its fresh water

Minxxy

I'm not an expert on puffers but that one looks a lot like a green spotted

Hopfully someone more versed with puffers chimes in.
How big is he?

jules426

Is that a bad puffer to have? And I don't really know how big he is. I adopted him from my mom's friend

Minxxy

GSP prefer brackish water, a mix between salt and fresh ....
His white white belly made me think Gsp
..do you have other pictures

jules426

Yes I do

Here are the pictures

Minxxy

AJE posted a thread called puffer problems where the lfs sold him a GSP as a pea puffer.
How long has your friend had this little guy

jules426

I have no idea. I will need to ask her. What does GSP stand go?

Minxxy

Green Spotted Puffer

Pea puffer

jules426

So could he be acting sick or just not happy with his setup?

Minxxy

AJE do you think pea or GSP

AJE

100% gsp

jules426

So what should I do to make him more happier? I just added some aquarium salt to the tank.

AJE

jules426

I do not have a clue. I got him from my moms friend and he has been with me since

AJE

jules426 said:
I do not have a clue. I got him from my moms friend and he has been with me since
Is he like an inch, 2”, just guess, don’t need an exact size

jules426