My Other Betta Now Has Dropsy?! Important

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by mintfossil, Aug 8, 2019.

1. mintfossil

mintfossilNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +6
    Experience:
    Just started
    Last week my first Betta passed away from Dropsy that I had been treating and was unsuccessful and he passed away. I treated the tank with a large water change, new water test and I’m now running charcoal in the tank, the new Betta in this tank is doing perfectly and he’s a happy little guy!

However, in my second 30l tank, also water tested (all good, no ammonia etc) and water changed 50% weekly and I’ve been doing this in both tanks for nearly 2 years now with no issues until now. Larimar (my Betta) has never been the healthiest, he is a dragonscale Betta with tumours and diamond eye but this never bothered him and he was a very active and happy Betta to me.

About a week ago he started to float near the top and showed signs of swim bladder, now this is my first Betta along with the other so I’ve never treated this before. So I bought a swim bladder treatment that my local fish store recommended and have been following the instructions along with extra small water changes. He has honestly gotten worse and tonight he has pineconed and is breathing rapidly near the top; this is how my other Betta died.

How can both fish get dropsy in the same amount of time?! Have I done something wrong? I’ve used the same bucket and siphon for years and the same water conditioners and food etc.

Please don’t be rude or anything, I still consider myself a new fish keeper and I have done everything I can to help my bettas and do quite a lot of research, obviously I want to do my best for them so any advice would be great!

The current Betta with dropsy is in a 30l planted filtered and heated aquarium with 4 amano shrimp and 1 nerite snail. Water was changed yesterday.

Thanks so much.

2. CheshireKat

CheshireKatWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +498
    Experience: