My Oscar has HITH! Help

1. oscarthegrouch22 Initiate Member

Hey All,
    I need some help I've been feeding my Red Oscar feeder fish for about 2 months now and I JUST found out thats a horrible thing to do. I've noticed his head had some indention's but I thought it was from hitting the top of the tank. If anyone can tell me how to cure him and some proper diet ideas that would be amazing. I heard spinish blanched was good but he doesnt want any part of that, just spits it out. HELP PLEASE!!!

2. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

3. Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

welcome to fishlore!!!
    can you get a pic of your oscar? some of them have the dents naturally....prestine water (daily partial changes) a better diet (some fresh beef heart pieces, spirulina flakes, high end pellet, fresh raw shrimp pieces, zuchinni, , half a vita min d pill, a full multi vitamin pill all mixed in a blender....mix it with plain gelatin and 3tbs of water and freeze it in cubes) vita chem , and lots of patience will cure him right up...no more feeders unless you raise them yourself :) good luck with your baby!!!!

4. bolivianbaby Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore, Oscarthegrouch! Excellent advice above.

Convicts are prolific breeders and would be a wonderful provider of "home grown" live food. They only require a 20g for a pair.

Good luck, I hope he gets better soon, and please keep us posted on his progress.

5. oscarthegrouch22 Initiate Member

Thanks for all the help we really appreciate it! Here's a photo of how he looks now. I'm changing his diet around now and just finished a 50% water change with new filters. Thanks for all the advice and support I will keep everyone posted on his progress. Happy holidays.

Attached Files:

6. sirdarksol Fishlore Legend Member

Good luck. Your oscar will likely be fine. If all you're seeing are minor indentations, there probably wasn't much harm done.