55 Gallon Tank My Opinion on small canister pre filter and large main canister filter

Utar

Several months ago I watched a youtube video where the pond guru guy talked about setting up a small pre canister filter to clean the water before it entered the large main canister filter. In this he stated that a person would only have to clean the small pre canister. I thought that would be great to have to only clean the small one because the large one is very heavy.

Here is a picture of my setup.

Pre-filter cansiter and main cansiter.jpg

I have been doing this for several months now I can say it does not work as advertised. Every water change I cleaned out the smaller canister, but left the larger one alone. After three months the large canister started spitting out a lot of nasty looking water.

I took the large one apart to clean and found out I really should have been cleaning the big canister much more often, then what I led myself to believe. Inside it was really nasty.

So in my opinion and what I experienced the small pre canister filtration method is not what it is hyped up to be.

On a side note, my dirted fully planted aquarium compared to say a cichlid only tank with rocks and substrate only, probably produces much more detritus and waste.

What do you all think and have you done this?

fldspringer

I use the Ehiem pre-filter on the intake, and a setup like yours (seems the booster filter is a bit larger?) on the first filter on a 135g tank. FYI the second filter is a Ehiem 2217 behind the same prefiler on the intake and that filter is nothing but foam.