my new oscar/cichlid tank

WSG

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am just getting back into the home fish tank hobby. I have a 29 gallon tank. I know that you will tell me it is over stocked but i am planning on getting a bigger tank within the next 3 months.

The tank consist of:
2 - Tiger Oscars
2 - Albino Tiger Oscars
2 - Baby Yellow Labs
1 - Electric Blue Cichlid
1 - Bullhead Catfish
2 Dozen - feeder guppies

I am feeding the bullhead catfish and the 4 tiger oscars live food. I bought some pellets for the 3 smaller cichlids until they can also eat live food.

What would you suggest for tank decorations. I was thinking of going with a medium sized piece of drift wood and a stone steping stone sculpture with numerous levels both on diffrent sides of the tank of course.

I am new to the cichlids so if anyone has any suggestions please let me know.

Also i understand that at adult length that these fish will be overstocking my 29 gallon tank but i am planing on getting a bigger tank again.

Thanks in advance for you help and suggestions.

Tom

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
You would need to get a huge tank. I'm talking about a couple hundred gallons just for the tank to be fine. As for the decorations, I don't really know what you could put in there since the oscars will move it to their liking and not yours.
Tom

Gunnie

Well Known Member
Reaction score