My New Freshwater Planted10.3 -currently Cycling-

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by vikingpillage89, Apr 22, 2019.

1. vikingpillage89Valued MemberMember

Waterbox aio 10.3 planted freshwater first time for me coming from saltwater just set up what do you guys think look good bad? Amazon swords and java furn. Plan on getting 2 pea puffers and some small shrimp 20190422_202658.jpg20190422_202710.jpg20190422_202654.jpg

Just set up today

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2019
  2. FahnFishlore VIPMember

3. 86 ssinitWell Known MemberMember

Wouldn’t the pea puffers eat the shrimp?? Shrimp need an established tank with micro film and algae to eat. To give them a chance I’d get some hornwort plants and java moss. For hiding places.

4. vikingpillage89Valued MemberMember

I'm new to the freshwater hobby yea i might not do shrimp and rather just do 2 pea puffers I just wanna have some sort of critter to manage some alge once I'm established.

5. FahnFishlore VIPMember

Puffers will eat just about any invertebrate you add to the tank (their main diet is snails), if you want algae control here is what you do!

1) high plantload. trust me, you can cram a lot more in there, and floating plants such as frogbit are great for algae control.
    2) limit your lighting. you really don't need more than 6-8 hours a day
    3) elbow grease. generic Magic Erasers are my favorite tank cleaning tool.

6. vikingpillage89Valued MemberMember

Sweet cant wait to have a mini jungle you have been very helpful fahn throughout the starting of this process. Will keep both threads updated.

7. 86 ssinitWell Known MemberMember

Thing with pea puffers is they should be by themselves. May want to try something else. Or google them find out what’s recommended.
    Tank looks good for day one:). The sword plants should get a root tab in the gravel under them. They are big root feeders. Java fern should have its rhizomes out of the substrate.