My Loaches Are Dying :( Question

1. s

shannon767 Valued Member Member

I set up a 40g black water tank and added 25 Khuli loaches. I’ve had them in there for about three weeks and 10 of the loaches have died, and I have no idea why. The parameters are exactly where they should be, I feed them, I see them playing, then one turns up dead. I also have 14 espei rasboras in the same tank, and they’re fine.

This is my first time keeping these fish. Is there something special I need to know? I thought I did enough research before buying them, but maybe I missed something.

2901293a2929d850acbaf30c4b413489.jpg

2. wodesorel

wodesorel Valued Member Member

It looks like you have the striped kuhlis? In my experience they are extremely sensitive and the few I have found for sale over the years did not live long. My black kuhlis are almost indestructible by comparison. I know that doesn't help your situation, but it may have something to do with the discrepancy in what you've read.

What are your test readings? Have you checked GH and KH? What are you using for tannins?

3. OP
    OP
    s

I haven’t checked my gh and kh, but I’ll do that tomorrow. The others are all where they should be, but I’ll double check that tomorrow, too. I use the Indian almond leaves for tannins.

I’m so bummed that they’re dying. I take really good care of my tanks and have never had this problem before. I had no idea they were so sensitive. I’ll test everything tomorrow and reply again with the details.

Thanks for helping!

4. OP
    OP
    s

Test results:
    Ammonia: 0
    Nitrites: 0
    Nitrates: 5
    ph: 7.6
    GH: 13
    KH: 6

What do you think? Looks pretty normal to me. The ph and gh may be a little high for them, but it’s consistent, which is important.

5. Ravynn

Ravynn Valued Member Member

How did you acclimate them? Did they have any signs of illness on their bodies when you took them out? Were they new arrivals at the store you got them from?