My Jaguar Cichlids Just Bred Help

Discussion in 'Breeding Fish' started by Manule1375, Apr 19, 2019.

1. Manule1375New MemberMember

Hi everyone!, this is my first time posting here so I hope you can help me out.
    I woke up this morning and I saw that my jaguar cichlid pair bred and there is an absurd amount of eggs attached to one piece of rock. Here is the problem, I didn't notice the breeding action before so they bred in an aquarium were there are more cichlids. I just wanted to ask if there is any way I can move the fry while there are still attached to the rock or do I leave the breeding to follow its natural process because I don't really want the fry to be eaten.
    Thanks

2. MorosithValued MemberMember

Moving the rock to another aquarium is definitely possible. Do you have a tank available for the fry? And do you have a sponge filter that has sat in an established tank available? If not it may be in your best interest to simply let things run their course with this spawn and wait until you are better set up to rear the fry.

3. Manule1375New MemberMember

Hi Morosith, thank you for helping me.
    Yes I have a 30 gallon tank for the fry with a sponge filter and other filter media that have been previously used in other tanks.

4. MorosithValued MemberMember

Excellent! You are able to move the rock directly to your 30 gallon tank then. The eggs will be okay with the very brief exposure to the air.

Good luck!

5. MorosithValued MemberMember

I forgot to say I have experience breeding various cichids, jags included. If you have questions when it comes to rearing eggs (and fry) let me know. It is honestly a bit more difficult than simply isolating the eggs with the parents, but it's certainly doable as long as you are dedicated.

6. Manule1375New MemberMember

Thank you so much! If I have any more problems I will let you know!

7. Manule1375New MemberMember