My Honey Gourami Is Injured Help

1. zinnaerris Member Member

I am apologizing ahead if this becomes a long post. Lol I am new here to the forum. I am also a noob with fish as well.

My tank is cycled. I have a nat geo 15.6 gal tank. I am using the heater it came with which is rated for a 20gal tank. The filter it came with is also rated for a 20 gal tank however it's not adjustable. So I purchased a Cascade 300 internal filter. I have it on the lowest setting and have the air bubbles going as well. It really seems to create a large current in the tank.
    The temp is 78f, ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates is every so slightly barely above 0 and ph right around 8.0 (I use the API drop test kit).
    I got 2 honey gouramis last Saturday. I acclimated them with adding my tank water to their over the course of an hour. They have been happy and swimming around and doing their usual picking at things. Their color has been totally fine, until yesterday.
    Yesterday got to 98 degrees (I'm in the northwest so for us that HOT lol) The house got really hot and unfortunately the tank temp went up to about 83. It was that temp for a couple of hours. I took the hood off and turned on a fan to help lower the temp. Thankfully that helped.
    One of the little guys stopped swimming around as much and he seemed kind of weak. He was/is also kind of pale. This morning I turned on the light and was checking on him.. Good timing.. as I found him I saw him get sucked against the filter. I shut off the filter and made sure he was out and away from it before I turned it back on. He was maybe sucked against it for 10 seconds. However now he isn't swimming much. His breathing seems a little labored. One of his feelers is hurt, he's not really using it much.
    There's been several times I've gone to check on him and thought he was dead.