Help My guppy has been pooping long, spiral-like whitish poop, and I'm unsure as to what it means!

Kierynn

Reaction score
Hi--I'm a beginner to fish keeping, and have had this tank for around 7 weeks now.
It's a 5.5 gallon with 3 male guppies... and recently I've become a bit concerned about the health of my little guys.

Over the last week or so, one of my guppies have started to poop longer, spiral-like whitish poop instead of the usual pink/brown shorter bits. Being new to fish and all, I was already storming over the internet for everything this could possibly mean... and the majority of what I found was in some way related to parasites... The thought of it certainly freaks me out, but I want to make sure I know exactly what it might be before I start rushing into water treatments like these sites suggest.

Now, my guppies have always appeared to be happy (both then, and now) being active around the tank, playful, eating well when fed... The only thing weird potentially is that the guppy I'm concerned about appears slightly more bloated (broader looking chest) compared to the others (has been like this since the day I purchased him). Below is an image of my bloated(?) guppy, along with his strange poop.

Guppy with bloated chest and white, stringy poo.

A little info on the tank if needed...

- I perform water changes once weekly.
- My guppies are fed a good pinch of flake food once every other day
- I actually added some live plants, if that affects anything?

In the end, thank you for taking the time to read this--and I hope you can help me in clarifying what might be wrong/needed to be done to help my guppies--if anything at all! Is this parasites? Something else? Can it be/should it be treated (whatever it may be)? If there's any other info you need, I'll be sure to answer!

TWiG87

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years