My Gourami

1. dawnearly Initiate Member

I just purchaced a Gourami Dwarf yesterday. This morning I noticed that he is hanging out at the top of the tank, and looking very sluggish. He also looks like he has "webs" coming off him. His colors are still ok, but I don't want to leave him in there and have my other fish die. I don't have a quarantine tank, as this is my very first tank, and my first couple of weeks with it. I have checked the ph, Nitrate Nitrite and Amonia and they seem to be normal....I only have test strips which the Petco gave me at the time of my tank purchase. Please help...I don't want to have to start my tank over. All the rest of the fish seem to be fine....4 neons, 1 platy, 3 guppies !!

2. EmptyH Initiate Member

I am brand new to this myself so please don't take anything I say too seriously, but I just recently had a similar situation with a Gold Gourami so maybe it will help. When I got the Gold Gourami he stayed in the top corner of the tank for a day and barely moved. He would go down to the bottom and them float back up every so often, but other than that he never seemed to do anything. After being in the tank a little over a day he became more active. He claimed one of the decorations I have in the corner and started chasing off any of the Danios that got too close to him. He also occationally goes out into the middle of the tank. He is still pretty much a loner but he is showing more activity now and seems to be getting used to his new environment.

Again I have to stress that I am NOT an expert, hopefully someone more knowledgable than myself will chime in with more info.

3. Gunnie Well Known Member Member