My Freshwater Plants Are Dying!

skllkd

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hey everyone!

I am relatively new to the fishkeeping/aquarium hobby, but before I started my project I did extensive research online to make sure I was going in the right direction.

I currently have a 10G aquarium from Topfin (their beginner started kit that includes LED lights, HOB filter and heater. Details found ()

More infos about my 10G tank: it is cycled - and the water parameters are the following:

Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrates: between 10 and 20 ppm

The HOB has a filter pad, that I cut up open to remove the activated carbon - I also added 6 bioballs, put in the HOB. No activated carbon in this filter (as I read it can remove organism added by liquid fert).

Informations about my plants

3 Anubias Nana
2 Java Fern
1 Amazon sword

= low to medium light plants

As you can see from the photos, I decided to go with freshwater plants - I'm really proud of this little aquascape, knowing that it's my first fish tank ever haha. Although I'm getting a bit concerned for my freshwater plants - from the look of it, it seems like they're dying at a pretty fast pace (I've put them on 04/18), and I already have had to remove some dead leaves - So I know, now you're wondering, how can his tank be cycled when it looks like it's been put together a week ago - it's because I had a previous tank before this one, that was with gravel and fake plants.

A little bit more info about my plants - I used API Root tabs (fertilizer) when setting up, and I also use API Leaf Zone and API C02 booster (I have an airstone in the tank, on a timer running only at night when the lights (also on a timer) go off).