My fish don't get along Question

1. babybow Initiate Member

I'm new to all of this, so bare with me. I recently acquired a 10 gal tank from my brother, that had already been set up. The tank included 2 small pelco's and 2 tetra's. I than went and got a blue gourami and a fire gourami. I have done a 50% water change just a couple days ago, it stays pretty clean. Anyways I have been noticing for the last couple of weeks that each species seems to attack each other for instance my Pelco's attack each other, the fire gourami attacks all of them and the tetra's fight each other. Just tonight I witnessed my fire gourami bite on to the blue's fin and attack him for about 30 seconds until I tapped on the tank. I don't know much about fish but I do know you keep communities together. My LFS told me that these were all community tropicals and they are not aggresive, but all I am witnessing is them trying to kill each other. Please help.

2. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Hello Babybow and Welcome to Fish Lore. Ten gallons is a bit small for the fish that you have. Pleco's, depending on the type can grow to 18". Some species will only grow to 6". However, they are all large waste producers and wouldn't recommend them being in anything less than 29 gallons and then only 1 per tank.

Gouramis should only be housed 1 per tank as well. They will fight. I would seriously consider rehousing both Plecos and at least 1 Gourami to a larger tank or returning them to the pet store for store credit or exchange. You might get by with one Gourami in 10g. Sadly fish stores don't always give out the best information and knowledge. Remember they are in business to make $.

As for your Tetras do you know what kind they are?

Sorry to have to give you sad information but I only want what's best for you and your fish. With your current stock, I don't see you having a happy healthy tank.
    Best wishes!
    Ken

3. babybow Initiate Member