My Fish Death Log - It's Fungus!!!

Aspiration82
Mar. 3
I changed the food in the auto feeder to having more granules than flakes. I have never done this before.

Mar. 4
I painted a bathroom on the main floor, which shares a wall with my living room where my tank is located. I did not cover the tank, but I ventilated the bathroom.

Mar. 5
In the evening my swordtail died at the bottom of the tank. He seemed weak as he took his last few breaths. He died quickly. I scooped him out, looked him over, saw no signs of obvious illness. Water parameters were good, 0 Ammonia, 0 Nitrite, 20 Nitrate.

Mar. 6
This afternoon, I discovered one of my guppies had died in the same spot as the swordtail, except I had gotten to him too late, as just his torso remained. I'm doing a water change tonight, just in case there are toxins in the water. I'm also going to revert back to having more flakes than granules in the auto feeder. Also important to note, the fish seem normal and happy, Rainbowfish are coloured up, one turquoise showing yellow.

Mar. 7
This morning everyone seemed to be great. Afternoon, noticed a grey patch on my betta who then appeared to be hiding, a small patch on a turquoise rainbow, and a raised white patch on a boesemanI - both rainbows were swimming around as normal. Appears to be fungus. Removed carbon, did a 50% water change, treated entire tank with API Fungus Cure.

Mar. 8
Betta is out of hiding, swimming around. Everyone else swimming around as normal. No deaths

Mar. 10
Everyone still happy and alive.

Niki Rose
I don't think it would have been the change in diet, but I do know that pellets are a lot more dense than flakes so you would normally feed a lot less. However if the fish showed no signs or bloating or being overfed I don't think it would have been that.

I have never painted while fish are nearby so I don't know if that could cause problems but id do a water change just in case.

Aspiration82