My first tank! Betta and platys

lisa987

Valued Member
Reaction score
I'm sorry if I don't get this right since this is my first time doing this. I recently got my first tank (an Eclipse 12 gallon) and after cycling it I added fish over the past couple weeks. If you haven't noticed, I like a lot of color I have read on a number of forums that male bettas usually do okay with docile fish that don't have fancy fins, but I noticed that my betta sometimes bullies the platys. Maybe it's because he had the tank to himself for a week. So I'll have to keep an eye on it and maybe have to get him his own tank if he doesn't accept them. I still need a background and live plants, and eventually some kind of sucker fish. The betta is named Genie (because he reminded me of Genie from Aladdin) and the platys are Huey, Dewey, and Louie. I really love the Mickey Mouse head on "Huey."

If you have any suggestions I'd really appreciate them as this is new to me! Especially if anyone has experience mixing male bettas with other fish. One thing I noticed was that Genie seemed so happy when I moved him into the new tank (I had him in a small fishbowl for a few days while the tank was finishing cycling) and he loves to swim all over the place now. It makes me sad to see all those tiny bowls that they mark as being "especially for bettas."

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
One of your problems may be the fact that he was the first one in the tank as he staked out the territory as his own and now sees the platies as intruders, but another may be that of all fishes, Platies resemble female bettas and could be misconstrued by the betta as other bettas. He is probably going to have to be seperated if the bullying does not stop as he will eventually kill or injure the other fish. I am so sorry that you went to the trouble of getting this beautiful tank together and are having all this trouble.