My first tank (20 gal)

Gamer

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Greetings all,

I'm a brand new fish keeper from Florida. I just got my first fish tank today as a birthday present. It's a 20 gal which I plan to turn into a community tank and it came with a Penguin Power Filter and some kind of heater. I hope that will do for now. Of course I plan to upgrade these things as I learn more about fish tank equipment and fish species in general. That's why I'm here!

I've been reading the board this past week and I see many knowledgable fish keepers here whose posts I hope to learn more from in the coming weeks and months.

So far I've just got the gravel in the tank, I should buy the plants and driftwood this weekend. I treated the tap water with a water conditioner known as "AquaSafe". Hopefully that's a good one, or good enough at least.

Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself. This is my first post, I hope to learn from you all and remember, I'm a newbie so be gentle! lol

Oh and by the way, in a couple weeks I plan on adding platies, swordtails, corys, 1 pleco, dwarf gourami's and neon tetra's...but not all at once of course.

atmmachine816

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to fishlore

I use that water conditioner and have had positive results. Sounds like a good filter too.

Make sure your tank is cycled before adding the fish, but a test kit. A good one is aquarium pharameuticals, liquid test kit.

Neville

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
hI welcome to fishlore!! hey plecos grow up to 18 inches, they r not suitable for a 20 gallon tank, u can get a bristlenose pleco; they grow up to 5 inches only.

OP
Gamer

Gamer

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Thanks guys. I am going to Pet Supermarket today to look for a good test kit to start testing the water. If I can't find a good one I suppose I will use the bigalsonline site which I've heard good things about.