My First Case Of Ich

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by HigherPrimate, Aug 5, 2019.

1. HigherPrimate

HigherPrimateNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +5
    Hey All,

So I have an Ich issue in my South American Cichlid Community tank.

My German Blue Ram, Electric Blue Ram, Texas Cichlid currently have spots. My Blood parrot. Angel Ram, and Ancestrus Pleco are currently not showing any signs of Ich.

I have some Ich-X on the way and it should be here in a day or 2. Once I start my treatment of Ich-x would it be safe to raise my temp from 80f to 86f with the fish I have?

Any tips on beating this would be great. This is my first time dealing with Ich so i'm trying to learn as much as I can.

Thank you all for your replies!

Attached Files:

2. toomanyfishes

toomanyfishesValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +56
    Experience:
    5 years
    I would raise the tank to 86oF before medicating. Wait 2-3 weeks. If it dosen't clear up, use the medicine you ordered. Having ich medicine handy is always good.

3. FrostedFlakes

FrostedFlakesWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +548
    Experience:
    2 years
    Usually you choose one treatment. Either heat or meds, not both. Medications are successful if used correctly and so can heat be, I am just an advocate for choosing the meds because I know they are effective and I have never tried heat. It is your choice, just make sure not to do them in conjunction. Keep the water clean and parameters in check Also if you medicate make sure to remove any filter carbon

4. OP
    OP
    HigherPrimate

Ratings:
    +5
    Awesome I wasn't sure if I should raise it up or not as I know it speeds up the Ichs life cycle and I was worried it may cause more fish to get it but after reading more I think cranking up the temp now is a much better option as it stops reproduction in the Ich.

5. FrostedFlakes

Ratings:
    +548
    Experience:
    2 years