my dwarf gourami looks bad

blu.72

Reaction score
I am very new to this fish thing. My friend thought I needed a pet and since I don't get on with legged creatures we went with fish.
I started out with some guppies and a pair of gouramI (male and female). The seemed like they were all doing well in the 5 gal tank. Then I added a small angelfish and a algae eater. I have now learned that this is too many, but it didn't really matter because in a week, my numbers have dropped to two gourami, an angel and the algae eater. Right now my male gouramI looks like it is going to die too. It is not swimming well, one side of his face has very red almost disfigured gills and now my angel is picking on him. I thought it was ammonia problem so I added some aqua plus and cycle to see if it would help. I thought about removing some of the water and replacing it but I am a bit worried about the quality of the water I might be adding and I can't test it right now (no store open to get the tests). I am on city water, so cholorine is present and god knows what other chemicals.
I am really worried that I am going to lose the gouramI by morning. Do any of you have any suggestions? If this a disease or is it water quality?

lolagurl

Reaction score
way too many fish. You shouldnt even have 1 gouriamI in there. can you take them back..if so I would and maybe just stick with two guppies.They're going to keep dying till you do this also
1) Do you have a heater in there
2) a filter
3) did you de chlorinate the water..your supposed to with tap water
4) and I'm guessing you didnt cycle it?
Please if you can take them back...all of them..none of them will survive. Also I bet in that tiny tank the guoriamI picked on the guppys constantly..and I bet they'll do the same to your angel..two against one and the angels more delicate,

Gunnie

Well Known
Reaction score