My CYCLING experience....

jmarks

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
For all those researching cycling, I figured I would share my cycling experience...

Background:
36 gallon tank with new HOB filter, new gravel, new ornaments

After extensive research, forum reading, and the fact that I have a degree in Environmental Engineering and work in the field of waste water engineering, I jumped at the idea of doing a fishless cycle. Went an bought a 10% solution of ammonia from Ace and was ready.

Day 1- After 24 hours of tank setup and running (with water conditioner), I decided to spike in 5mL of ammonia, instructed dosgae of stability. Using API Master Test kit, my ammonia appeared to be 5ppm, nitrite & nitrate 0ppm, pH 7.8. (all parameters were 0ppm before spike)

Day 3- Being the impatient person I am and wanting something to happen, after 48 hours of no changes in any readings, I decided that maybe my spike was too high, so I did a 5 gallon water change using prime and added my 3rd dose of stability. Ammonia appeared to drop a hair to around 4ppm.

Day 5- During this time I never added more ammonia since I was still measuring ammonia from the very first dose. I did however, continue daily stability as directed. After another 48 hours and still nothing changing (no reduction in ammonia, no nitrite or nitrate) I decided to dump in a bottle of Tetra Safe Start (rated for 40 gallons) discontinued Stability at this time.

Day 6
- After 24 hours of the Tetra Safe Start and not a hair of change in my readings, I decided to do another 10 gallon water change with prime to try and reduce the ammonia a little bit (down to 3.5 or so). I also dumped in a bottle of Dr. Tim's One & Only hoping that anything would help jump start this cycle as I had family coming into town in the near future and wanted fish in my tank.