My Bolivian Ram turned black yesterday and is not moving

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish and Tank Photos' started by AlexandraS, Jan 6, 2013.

1. AlexandraSNew MemberMember

Hi, this is my first time posting. I have had this Bolivian Ram for about a year now, he has never been sick, always the epitome of health. Yesterday at about 2:00 I fed him and he was acting completely normal, then when I looked in the tank around 9:00, he was almost completely BLACK and swimming clumsily at the bottom of the tank. I put him in a small quarantine bowl (1 gallon) and heated the water slightly, but he is not getting better. Here is a youtube video I uploaded of him this morning:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USRF4Xk7X5s

Does anyone have any ideas??

thanks so much.

Alex

2. Carl77New MemberMember

hi Alexandra,

i have several bolivian rams and have so far never encoutered this problem before but someone on this forum will know what the problem is...have u got a quaranteen tank for sick fish set up? i would definitely keep this fish seperate from yr other fish...also i would make sure the water has plenty of oxegen in tank its in now and also well filtered what was yr water readings? is the fish still alive?

3. Carl77New MemberMember

It may be a protozoan disease like Hexamita or Chilodonella. Try treating him with a med that has Metronidazole in it. Like:

or you can even order Metronidazole from DFS:

found the information on the forum for you hope it helps....if you google the problem you have its not uncommon

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2013
  4. JayseeFishlore LegendMember

To be honest, it just looks like its stressed. That's not to say there isn't something else wrong, because there likely is or else the fish would not be dark like that. But the color itself is not a problem.

5. AlexandraSNew MemberMember