My Blue Rams Keep Dying

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Lana Ocelot, Apr 6, 2017.

1. Lana Ocelot

Lana OcelotNew MemberMember

Hi,

I am relatively new to fish keeping (around 4 months) and have so far been pretty satisfied with my results. Everything seems happy and healthy, that is all except for my blue rams.

I started off with a pair of electric blues from a pet shop and all seemed well for about 3 weeks, when one of them started hiding, lost a lot of its colour and had a strange red protrusion coming from its genital papilla. Unfortunately with no similar cases online, I had no idea how to treat it and the fish died.

Feeling bad for the one solo male ram, I got another female from a different place thinking it would be a one off case, but after another two weeks the male suffered the same fate.

All seemed well for the female that I got from a different place, so I figured it was due to the hormones they put into pet shop rams, and bought a male from the same place. Unfortunately, now the female is following the exact same pattern.

I can't for the life of me work out what's causing this, but it's heart breaking. I love having rams, but unless I can figure out what's causing this then I won't be getting anymore for fear of killing them.

Does anyone recognise this issue or have any advice?

2. Mike the fish keeper

Mike the fish keeperValued MemberMember

What are the parameters such as PH, Hardness, nitrate, nitrite, and temperature.

3. Jayd976

Jayd976Well Known MemberMember

Rams are delicate. I too never had luck with keeping them. Check your water parameters with the required parameters necessary for keeping them.

4. OP
    OP
    Lana Ocelot

PH is 6.6, nitrates/nitrites/ammonia are undetected in my tests, temperature is about 26c (79f). The only thing I don't have a test for is the water hardness. I hope this isn't my problem, but I guess it's at least a somewhat easy fix.

5. Mike the fish keeper