20 Gallon Tank my blue gourami is eating my red wag swordtail--help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

legs

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I'm new to having an aquarium, and I've only had this 20 gallon set up with fish for about a week. I have one blue gourami(susan), one male red wag swordtail(claire), and a violet goby(greg). The goby just chills and does his own thing, but my swordtail is getting followed, bitten at and sucked at by my gourami. I woke up late this morning, so the fish got a late meal--but apparently not the gourami; he took off three scales from the side of my modestly small swordtail for breakfast! I'm worried about my swordtail getting picked on anymore, and I was wondering what I could do to help him out. My intuition tells me to get more swordtails, to provide safety in numbers--or something like that, but I had someone suggest to get another gourami so that they pay their attention towards each other (rather than the swordtail). I've been reading some of the other threads on this forum, and you guys seem to know what you're talking about, any ideas?

Last edited by a moderator:

Gouramiguy17

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
You have an agressive gourami, what size is he, i have kept mine in with platy fry over 1cm and bigger and he did fine with them. I would recemond returning the gourami to the petstore and getting more swordtails

Shawnie

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years