My Blackmoor Needs Help !!!

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by Nat36, Apr 18, 2019.

1. Nat36New MemberMember

2. Nat36New MemberMember

Hi i am new to this so im sorry i dont really know how to start a conversation but here goes my Blackmoor is around 5 months old and ive noticed this past week he has white edges on his fins and white around his eyes and on his face , hes eating and swimming normally and seems quite happy apart from him clamping his fins and occasionally laying on the bottom of his tank i have checked his water with the Api master tester and everything is normal so please any advice on how to get him better id be most grateful.

3. Skullkong101Valued MemberMember

Possibly (but I have little experience so I'm about 40% sure.) Possibly ich or finrot... More than likely of the two is ich.

4. RtessyFishlore VIPMember

Ich is whit dots that look like salt, finrot does not occur on the face.

OP, can you please list:
    Ammonia
    Nitrite
    Nitrate
    Temperature
    Tank size
    Tank mates
    Newest addition
    When was the newest addition
    Do you add salt?

If you haven't added anything new in the past month, it looks like slime coat shedding or a bacterial infection.
    If there has been a new addition, we have to look at costia or columnaris, most likely costia.
    If you add salt, it's probably slime coat shedding.

5. Nat36New MemberMember

Hi the tank size is 55 ltr and hes on his own hes been fine up until and still swims happily and eats well, i did a water change again today and added Melafix which someone advised and since my 1st post this morning the white edges on his fins have gone and the white on his face and around his eyes is fading so fingers crossed but this is my water readings
    Nitrate 0.0
    GH 60
    KH 18
    PH 6.5 ( this is a bit low )