My Betta Is Sick And I Don’t Know What He Has Help

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by Snarbleglarf, May 21, 2019.

1. Snarbleglarf New Member Member

I just recently moved my betta from a 10 gallon tank to my 40 gallon breeder community tank housing cherry barbs, green Corydoras, ghost shrimp and a female betta (I know that’s not recommended but both fish were very docile and never fought) yesterday I found a cherry barb dead and this morning the female betta had died and my male now has white growths on his face and I don’t know what it is or how to treat it, I don’t believe it’s Ich because I am not noticing any white spots on the rest of his body. I am still very new to the hobby so any advice is welcome!

Attached Files:

2. Tanks and Plants Well Known Member Member

From talking to a good friend of mines who breeds bettas you should never put and male and female together unless you are planning to breed them. They will fight and I didn’t know this also! I thought that they would get along fine because they were a male and female. Also here is the beginning of a set of videos that I really enjoyed and i like the way the owner makes his videos. He doesn’t use fancy things and he is also very successful in breeding different types of fish.

I think those white spots are injuries from your bettas fighting.
    And since bettas are one of the very few fish that breath air putting them in a tank that is high makes them have to swim from the bottom to the top to get a gulp of air. There are things you can place in your tank to give your betta a place to rest on that’s in the middle or higher towards the top of the tank. I would take out that male betta and place him in a smaller bowl and treat him with a general treatment medicine to help fix the cuts on his face to make sure it does not get infected.

Good Luck!

3. Snarbleglarf New Member Member