My Betta Has Dropsy, Got A Few Questions.

Platyarelife

My little betta Ghost is over here looking like a sad rolly polly pine cone so I wanna get him fixed up asap. I am reading on Epsom salt baths and something it doesn't mention is the duration the Betta should be kept in there. It talks about doing this for a week or so but won't sitting in Epsom salt for that long kill him? Never dealt with Dropsy before, bring on the advice! Thank you!

DutchAquarium

If your all ready seeing pine coneing, your too late most likely. Salt in my opinion doesn't do any good either because of bettas weak immunity to it. You could try to save him with some marcyrn 2 and soaking his food in garlic, but dropsy is a tough disease because usally if you don't catch it right away, it's fatal. Sorry, to say but I've been breeding and keeping show bettas for 10+ years and when they are at this point, I believe it's better to put them down.

Platylover

An Epsom salt bath is a higher concentration that the fish should only be in for 10-15 minutes. Since he unfortunately had dropsy I suggest doing 2-3 baths a day. For what I’m assuming they meant by a week would be keeping Epsom salt in the aquarium. For this it’s a much lower concentration and you must adjust this after each waterchange. Here’s a good article on doing these-
Salt Baths

And if it’s any help this is how I suggest treating dropsy-
Dropsy treatment

I’m really sorry your boy has dropsy. I hope he can make it or pass peacefully.

Platyarelife

If your all ready seeing pine coneing, your too late most likely. Salt in my opinion doesn't do any good either because of bettas weak immunity to it. You could try to save him with some marcyrn 2 and soaking his food in garlic, but dropsy is a tough disease because usally if you don't catch it right away, it's fatal. Sorry, to say but I've been breeding and keeping show bettas for 10+ years and when they are at this point, I believe it's better to put them down.