My aquarium - opinions

SpecialPatrolGroup

Hi all,

I am still new to keeping fish and I love it. I love the science of it, the beauty of it, their personalities. It's fantastic.

(I'm sorry it's so long, I do try not to do that but it's an ongoing problem )

We started out with an outdoor pond and goldfish, who are all still awesome and thriving, and gradually we have added aquariums. My daughter has two, one with a betta and a catfish, the otherwith a female betta - a beautiful pink and purple one. Stunning.

My son has one that houses our baby guppies while they grow.

My aquarium is the community tank and that's the one I want to ask about. In it, I have three female mollies, two completely manic albino cories (Marilyn and Doris), nine neon tetras, three white cloud minnows, one male guppy, one orange platy with a black upper lip so she's called Fishler (fish that looks like Hitler) and four teeny surprise baby guppies. I accidentally killed the other 22 two nights ago and that's in another thread

It's only 70L (19 gallons) so I KNOW it's overstocked. This happened because my son's first aquarium cracked right across the base and I had to rescue all of his fish and add them to my tank.

Please be assured, the fish are happy and healthy, the water parameters are perfect, I take very good care of it and I'm saving up for a much, much bigger tank - promise! It has a mix of live and fake plants - four live and three fake.

So, my questions:

1. Is it overcrowded with plants and ornaments? I think it's beautiful but as there are also a lot of fish, it could have too much other stuff in it.

2. Once we have a (much) larger tank, I would like to put my daughter's female betta in it. Bad or good idea?

3. I use Seachem and Fluval products. For the plants, Seachem Flourish - good idea or pointless?