My Angel fish looks ill 20 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Angelfish' started by pixieclayton, Apr 9, 2010.

1. pixieclaytonNew MemberMember

Hi I'm new at all this! I bought 2 new small angel fish yesterday to go in my community tank, All the fish don't fight and get on (a little to much sometimes :) if you know what i mean) Anyway one of the angel fish has his gills open and they look really red? i'm not sure why but think it could be stress related? any advise would be good, all the other fish look good and the angel fish is still swimming arround and eating normally

2. e_watson09

e_watson09Well Known MemberMember

Well first I wanted to welcome you to fish lore :;hi2

I really hope you didn't add them to a tank that had been started a week ago. Exactly how many fish do you have in the tank? You tank is probably in a cycle and angels are much too delicate for starter fish then plus your tank is much too small for even one angel unfortunatly.

3. Shawnie

ShawnieFishlore LegendMember

4. OP
    OP
    p

pixieclaytonNew MemberMember

No the tank was started about 7 weeks ago and the man in the shop said the tank being 80x40x30 would be fine?? The one Angel is fine its just the other one the angels are about 3cm at the mo and we have about 9 in there all different most of them are mollys and guppys apart from 1 x sucker any advice ?

5. flyin-loweWell Known MemberMember

First thing you need to do is read up on the nitrogen cycle. You shouldnt add angel fish to a tank unless it has been established and running for several months. Red gills are usually an indication of ammonia poisening. If you just set your tank up last week it has not cycled and depending on what other fish you have in there the angels will likely die, and the other might also.
    Lasty angels are are a chichlid and when they start to grow they will cause problems in a communtiy tank. Maybe the place you bought them will let you return them.

6. e_watson09