my african cichlid wont eat

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by oosterhoff818, Jan 5, 2013.

1. oosterhoff818

oosterhoff818New MemberMember

hi everyone! iam new here and just seeing if any of you could help me. I have a 40 gallan tank with 7 lake malawi cichlids and spotted bushynose pleco. i do water changes every 2 weeks about a thrid of the water. All my fish are great, seem to be heathly, swimming, eating, loving life. But my sunshine peacock seems unheathly, he is not eating, always just hiding by the rocks, not very active at all. he also is always opening and closeing his mouth,like gulpping,like he is chewing on something. so i just did a water change, thinking that might help. My ammonia is at 0, my nitrite is at 0 and my PH is at 7.9-8.1 range. I am new to the cichlid world and have had my cichlids for 2 months now, all the other fish are great and i love them lots of fun watching them grow and change coulors. oh ya sorry all my fish are youge, there like 1 to 2 or 3 inches right now. hope with this info someone could help me or give me some tips. thank you.

2. mmolitor87

mmolitor87Well Known MemberMember

Is it the only peacock? It could be possible that the peacock is holding. Can you post pictures by chance? :)

3. Gordinian

GordinianWell Known MemberMember

Welcome to fishlore!

What kind of cichlids do you have? I noticed you said mbuna, but then you said peacock, which don't do well with mbuna. They may be harassing your peacock to the point where he's so stressed he won't eat (and sits in the corners breathing heavily).

Also, what is the male/female ratio? What are your nitrate readings?

4. OP
    OP
    oosterhoff818