Multiple questions

1. Oliver5672 Well Known Member Member

Im planning to begin planting my new 75g tank on the weekend and as this is my first time keeping plants im wondering if there's anything in particular I need to do. I want some form of Anuabis, vallisneria and a sword plant, are these ok? Also possibly some form of carpeting plant but I will add that later (suggestions for species are welcome). People often use co2 or root tabs and I was wondering if they are necessary or just extras? Any advice on keeping plants would be appreciated.

2. TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Is this for your African cichlid tank? If so, most plants will be eaten or destroyed.

Root tabs are necessary for root feeding plants (Val, swords). CO2 is not necessary for many plants (like the Anubias, Val, and sword). You won't be able to get a true carpet without CO2, high light, and a fertilized substrate, but crypts and dwarf sag are good small foreground plants.

3. Charles556 Member Member

The plants you have chosen are all great choices for beginners. Anubias are low-tech plants that don't require powerful lighting or additional fertilizers. Vals and swords I'd say benefit more from a medium tech setup, with medium tech meaning plant-specific T8 bulbs and monthly root tabs, for me at least.

Liquid C02, like Flourish excel, has been known to melt vals if the plants are not acclimated slowly to it. Anyways, you wouldn't necessarily need it for a low/medium tech setup. I actually strongly recommend root tabs for beginners because they're easy to use; just stick one into the substrate near the base of a heavy root feeder like a sword once every 1 or 2 months. Even vals should benefit from tabs, as they also acquire nutrients through roots.

4. Oliver5672 Well Known Member Member

Brilliant thanks, I probably won't go for a carpet if its a lot of work. I am using t5 lights though, is that ok?