Moving To Bigger Tank

DoryDoris

Reaction score
what started as an ideal for ideal pet in a bowl for child turned out to be a lot more maintenance that thought.

Currently have a 28L tank with
2 x Danios
2 x platies

Recently added
2 x Zebra Snails
2 x black cordoras (both died within 1 st week - which gutted about as waited ages to get these little beauties)

I’ve just upgraded to 58l as wasn’t until I actually see Danios in 28l tank I thought it was to small.

I’ve had so much conflicting advice from Pet store and would of happily sold me more fish knowing I had on 28l.

New fish tank has a completely different filter, so should I run new filter in old tank? If so how long? And when do I move New fish over?

Sorry am complete novice (as I recently brought API stress coat and zyme which I’ve learnt don’t need zyme)

I’ve done partial water change yesterday as Corydoras died.

Thanks

Genghis Karp

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Just take all of the old media from the existing tank and fully rinse it out/dump it in the new tank while the new filter is running. It'll make the new tank a right old mess for a while and you'll have to clean it up a bit a while later, but hey presto - add the fish straight away. Just build up the numbers relatively slowly after though because the original filter is not as big as the new one so it'll only be partially loaded with beneficial bacteria.

tetratetris

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Corys and danios should be kept in schools of at least 6+. Its important to their helth and amount of stress. This easily could have killed the cory.

Hope this helps!

DoryDoris

Reaction score
Thank you both for the replies.

Stupid questions

but do I put all the old tank water into new one? I have not filled the new one up completely

The new tank water I’ve just used stress coat not the zyme, should I add anything else?

Very nervous about moving them over.