Moving tank for one day....have questions.

Stacie H.

Reaction score
Hi!  I am a relative beginner when it comes to fish...had my 36 gal tank since February.  It is a pie-piece shaped tank that sits on a stand in one corner of our living room.  It currently houses 5 red flame tetras, 5 black skirted tetras, and 3 rosy tetras.

We are having painters come next Friday, so we have to move the tank away from the wall for most of that day.  However, in order to move it, we're going to have to take some of the water out.  Otherwise, it'll just be too heavy to move.  So, my questions:

1)  Would it be okay to take out about half the water and leave it out, or do I need to empty and fill the tank twice?  I was thinking taking almost half out would let us slide the tank stand on the tile floor.

2)  If we do not refill the water, will it hurt the fish to have the pump off during that time?  I have a Marine Land Penuin filter, rated for 50 gal.

3)  Should I keep the water from the tank and just refill with it at the end of the day?

Any help will be appreciated.  Thanks!!

Stacie H.

Reaction score
Sorry for the major edit in my post...I accidentally posted earlier before I was ready to do so...

chipster55

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
How long do you have to keep tank moved. Are you just going to change permanent places where it will reside. If so I would take the water out that needs to come out to move it. Then move it..Then add water back and just treet it as a water change.Even if you have to move it back you can do the same thing..All should be good and cleaner..good luck

Stacie H.

Reaction score
chipster55 said: