Moving 15 Hours With Fish Help

1. l

leonaricky New Member Member

In the fall, I am going to be moving down to Georgia from Massachusetts, and I have been googling and brainstorming the best plan to safely move my dear fish down there with me. I have a plan, but was hoping to present it to all of you for suggestions to improve it. Thanks in advance!! :)

My current (20 gallon) tank inhabitants are: 3 guppy, 2 neon tetra, 2 glowlight tetra, 3 phantom red tetra, 1 platy, 1 dwarf gourami, 4 cory catfish, and many large, thriving plants. I have an API master test kit for checking water quality.

In anticipation of the upcoming move I will not be adding any new fish between now and the move.

This is my current plan, if you have any ideas on how to improve it please let me know.

1. I will be doing the trip in one day (will have multiple drivers), with as few stops as possible to reduce temperature fluctuations.

2. I will have two sealable 5-gallon buckets ( ), each less than half full of water. I will cover buckets with blankets for insulation and darkness to reduce stress. I will fast the fish for 24-48 hours ahead of time to reduce waste output. I was thinking:

Bucket 1: 4 neon/glowlight tetra, 3 phatom red tetra, 1 dwarf gourami
    Bucket 2: 3 guppies, 1 platy, 4 cory cats

3. I will drill a small hole in each bucket lid, to insert an aerator connected to a battery powered air pump.

4. I will have a water heater set to 78 in each bucket.. will I be able to plug these into the car or are they too high of a voltage? Is this safe with there being only 2/2.5 gallons or so in each bucket? I will also keep the car at around 72 or 73 degrees. (Their tank is currently at 78)