More Ramshorn/algae Issues

Aquarista

Reaction score
More Ramshorn issues for my favorite Aquagurus:
1- found dead snails in a cloudy tank*, any realtion? Why would they die?
2- 2 of the dead snails were interlocked, as though thay axphicsiated (sy) each other, any ideas?

*Having major algae problems there with the green water that has now turned cloudy on the 'whitish/greyish' side

Thank you all

SFGiantsGuy

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It could be either a bacteria problem, or an aeration problem, per the "cloudiness". Maybe some more aeration is required. They have enough food to eat as well, or...?

Or perhaps it's an algae bloom,hence the green water turned cloudy. Or a bacterial bloom...or both. Snails are usually pretty tolerant of blantant algae blooms, so guessing it may be a bacterial issue. I'm kinda dealing with the same thing...1 dead snail here out of about 16...

Aquarista

Reaction score
Yes, I'm not a pro, but my intuition was to balance out maybe the co2 produced by the greenery with a stone oxygen diffuser? I'm gonna get my guppies and snails out ASAP just in case.

SFGiantsGuy

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
And yes, as Texas suggested, check those water parameters, as they are of the utmost importance, and should be regarded as priority one, for further determination of the causes.

TexasDomer

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
The plants will produce O2. They won't produce enough CO2 to kill your snails.

One snail was likely eating the other, or trying to mate with it.

Can you not test the water parameters?

Aquarista

Reaction score