Moray Eel

Nata

Hi, I’m looking for some urgent advice please. I am trying to help look after a moray eel in the absence of the owner having to leave unexpectedly.

I have no knowledge about eels at all so I am looking for basic and ideally quickly advice to help keep it alive until someone comes to rehome it either today or in next few days.

This is what I know: it’s a leopard moray eel, just been moved from a salt water aquarium due to very poor water conditions, temporarily rehoused in a small aquarium with rocks and corals (which I believe may be dying), she didn’t eat a shrimp yesterday and didn’t want to eat fish today, the water conditions were too warm so have now been lowered, ammonia is 50 and Nitrates about 20, water hardness is high, it was discovered last night that she has cut herself on the rocks from her mouth down to her stomach so rocks have now been removed. That is everything I know, can people please offer urgent advice on what I may be able to do to help her???

Zigi Zig

Hello
I have Gymnothorax Moray Eel so I don't much about leopard moray however just read about it is this species can get up to (36.2") inches long and need minimum 264 gal tank if he was already in bad water condition yours seems not good either you should have water pristine and suitable first for fish before try to get it.. They dig up the substrate and move loose objects in the aquarium, so fastening the rocks and corals to the tank is a good idea. Moray eels can easily escape from the tank if not tightly closed. They can lift lids and glass covers, do not underestimate their escape ability.

Nata

Hello