Molly Swimming Head Down, Sticks Head In Corner Of Tank In The Gravel

Discussion in 'Molly' started by Elliea, Jan 7, 2019.

1. Elliea

EllieaNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    Experience:
    Just started
    Hi I am fairly new to keeping fish and had no idea what I was getting into at first.

I have had my tank set up since Thanksgiving 2018. It is about 4 gallons, it has a filter that pulls from the bottom and drops back on top. It also has an overhead light. I have a panda platy and a balloon molly both male.
    My platy is fine but a week or two ago my molly started laying on the bottom of the tank. I did some research and started leaving the aquarium light off with the room light on. It seemed to help as he stopped sitting on the bottom and both of them became more active. But then he started swimming with his head down. He has to kind of fight to even stay there and not flip over. I researched and found it highly possible that he has swim bladder.
    I finally bought a heater. It is a preset heater at 78F. Once the temp was up he seemed to get a little better, it's not as hard for him to not flip over but he still swims with his head down. I am in the middle of withholding food and he seemed to improve a little right at first.

I got water test strips and my pH was too low. I removed the fish and added some baking soda, but then the overall alkalinity was too high. This morning I did a partial water change and I haven't checked it again yet.
    My tank is hexagonal and now I keep finding him in one of the corners with his head down in the gravel. I don't know what to do!

2. Rowan

RowanValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +225
    Experience:
    4 years
  3. OP
    OP
    Elliea

EllieaNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    Experience:
    Just started
    I pretty much covered all of this in the first post.

Tank

• What is the water volume of the tank? 4 gallons
    • Does it have a filter? yes
    • Does it have a heater? yes