molly fry under developed????? Question

Discussion in 'Molly' started by red020804, Apr 1, 2010.

1. red020804

red020804 Valued Member Member

sorry but i have a quick question. i'm new to fish and over a week and a half ago we brought home two female Cremecicle Lyretail Mollies. the next morning one of them had some fry. big surprise!!! anyway we saved 6 of them and currently they are in a 1.5 gallon tank till they get bigger then we will move them to a 10 gallon tank untill hopefully they are sold. two of the fry just kinda lay at the bottom of the tank they dont really swim up. they wait for the food to come down to eat. they are almost white in color and there eyes are all black. today i noticed one of them hopping around like a bunny rabbit. was funny to watch but im still concerned. it was like it couldnt quite keep its self afloat I guess you could say. im wondering is it possible because of the stress from moving from the tank at the store to our tank that she had some fry not fully developed? if so will they survive. i mean they were born march 21st and are still alive so hopefully they live. what do you guys think?

anyone?

:animal0068:I've merged your posts since they were back to back with no response.
    Thanks!
    Ken

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2010
  2. bassbonediva

bassbonediva Fishlore VIP Member

They won't develop in a small tank like a 1.5gal. I had a couple of platy fry in a 1gal for while (unheated and unfiltered) and they topped out at about 1". I moved them to my 55gal (heated and filtered) and the smaller one got eaten, but the bigger on has more than doubled in size in the two weeks she's been in there.