Molly Baby Suprise!

Discussion in 'Breeding Fish' started by sumjoy0474, Jan 5, 2013.

1. sumjoy0474New MemberMember

I am in profound shock and need some advice badly. Forgive me for rambling, but it's been a bit of an ordeal & I'm pretty new to fish-keeping. 5 weeks ago my molly had 8 babies, so I bought a little 1 1/2 gallon tank and all are doing well, and are now released back into the 10 gal tank until I can connect with the local LFS to see if he wants them. The male molly died shortly after the 1st batch, but had been very active with the female before that, so I knew there would be another batch or two, I wasn't worried, I read they don't have too many at a time, so I was expecting MAYBE up to 30.

We set up the little tank again and were going to transfer the female Friday, but alas, were a couple hours too late, woke up to lots of babies and the other fish snacking... ! So we hurried and put the big fish in the clean water bucket (don't have enough cover for babies, thus the little tank), along with mommy, removed all the rocks, etc from the big tank & started moving babies to the little tank. We lost count somewhere around 35 and just moved on to, well, dirty words... Went to put big fishes back in the big tank, and gah! more babies in the bucket!

So all the babies are now in the little tank & all the big fish are back in the big tank and I am hopelessly over-stocked with waaaay too many fish! No lying or exaggerating, there are somewhere between 60 and 70 molly fry in that tiny tank. (Took multiple pics, multiple times & counted that way.) What do I do?? This was not in the game plan! (I fully admit & acknowledge my ignorance and many mistakes, so please be kind with your answers.)

2. oscarsbudWell Known MemberMember

Hi and Welcome!