Help Molly Acting Strange

Jylin

Reaction score
Hello pleasant day. I'm new to this but I have a molly its gold and black it was fine when I got it on Saturday however yesterday it started shimmying and now it sleeps a lot what's wrong

FrostedFlakes

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
What are your water parameters? How often do you change the water? How large is the tank? I see you do not know the nitrogen cycle. In short, the cycle is the conversion from ammonia (very toxic) to nitrate (less toxic). This cycle is a essential for the health of fish. Fish naturally produce ammonia and ammonia can also be derived from left over food. When levels exceed around 1ppm, it is very lethal. If your tank is not cycled, I would guess this is the reason for your fish's odd behavior.

OP
J

Jylin

Reaction score
I clean my tank every Sunday I'm not sure about the nitrogen cycle thou...I'm away a lot at home only at weekends the pH is kinda low its 6.5 I also use rain water for my tank because I live in a place where it rains almost every day. I tried changing the temp how ever higher than 78° Celsius and they start shimming violently lower they still shimmy

FrostedFlakes

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I would start doing more frequent water changes if you can. It will protect your fish from high amounts of ammonia. It takes about a month for a tank to fully cycle and it's pretty important. Is there anyway you can test your water? I recommend the API liquid master test kit, but if that is not available most petstores or local fish stores can test water for you. The behavior you are describing sounds like it could be the effects of ammonia. Also, when you said 78 celsius I am going to assume you meant fahrenheit lol. 78 celsius is quite the temperature.

OP
J

Jylin

Reaction score