Mollies laying on the bottom of tank

lisac
HI there!

I am very new to fish and my daughter has a 10 gallon aquarium with the orange and black mollies and two dalmation mollies...there's also a couple other fish. The mollies have ALL been laying on the bottom of the tank very lifeless and just when I think they are dying...I'll feed them and they come to life and eat...then back down to the bottom??? I've been around aquariums before, but I've never been responsible for one before and I don't know what to do?? The water is good...I completed changed/cleaned their tank last weekend. I don't know if they are dying, getting ready to give birth(but then why are they all laying down there???...just the mollies, though!)or what they heck is going on?! Any suggestions are greatly appreciated! ~Lisa

Amnagrla
Hello and welcome!!

The way we help people here is by asking a LOT of questions and trying to get as much information as we can so we can give you the right answers... so please excuse all my questions!!

Do you know what kind of fish the other fish are? If the other fish can handle it, mollies like a little aqaurium salt in their water so that might help. You can find that at any fish/pet store.

What is the temperature of the tank?

How long has the tank been running? and how long have they been acting like this?

Since you are new to fish keeping, I'm going to have you read a little bit so you can get some help.
We have a great beginners section https://www.fishlore.com/Beginners.htm and also I would read this article about the Nitrogen Cycle https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm which is the reason a lot of new aquariums have fish that end up dying.

I know you said that you cleaned your tank well this weekend, that's great. What are you feeding them?

I would invest in a Master Test Kit like this one this will help you a lot. Usually when people have a problem, the first thing that people on here ask is the water chemistry.