Mixing mbuna and peacocks

Fisharewet

I'm planning a mostly mbuna cichlid tank but there is one peacock cichlid that I really like and was wondering if it was compatible with the mbuna. The peacock is a raspberry cichlid, and the mbuna im getting are about the same size as the raspberry cichlid.

Joshaeus

I'm no expert on African cichlids, but most mbuna are partially herbivorous and vulnerable to getting bloat if fed too much protein, while peacocks are strictly carnivorous; also, most mbuna are far more aggressive than most peacocks. I would wait for more opinions from those with more experience with these cichlids, but I personally would be wary of mixing a peacock with most mbuna species.

MacZ

Just leave it. Peacocks and haps mainly feed on crustaceans, plankton and small fish, Mbuna are aufwuchs eaters (algae, biofilms, infusoria growing on surfaces). That said: Let algae (except cyanobacteria) grow in your tank.

You can kill Mbuna with most protein rich foods, bloodworms e.g. are a killer.
Aulonocara on the other hand are rather weakened if only fed the more herbivorous foods designed for Mbuna.

Some people keep them together using only dried foods, which in my opinion is rather a bad compromise. Most dry foods contain unhealthy amounts of grains and starches (leading to fat liver which is fatal) and low grade fishmeal (containing prions, which can cause emaciating and degenerative syndromes).

SparkyJones

Peacocks are technically omnivores, but are predatory so yes, their diet is animal protein heavy, but they aren't picky and will eat algae and heck even lettuce and peas and plants given the opportunity. They aren't like the carnivores that simply won't touch anything that's not a meat, definitely omnivore they are designed to digest plant also.