Missing items in "Tetra test laborett" -help!

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by miserkris, Mar 21, 2010.

1. m

miserkris New Member Member

Hi Guys,

I am new to saltwater. Just startin to setup a 55g fowlr. I got some used stuff from CL and it included Tetra and Red sea test kits.

Heard Tetra is better. Issue is :

There is no testing instructions. All I have is the liquids and color cards.
    Please see attached pic.

Correct me if am wrong. I think I am missing ALL the instructions and the color cards for KH/GH. Right?

Pls tell me how I can get instructions and what I am missing in the first place!

I am using twp water , so I will treat it with aquatest. I dont need freshwater ph test anytime right? What else do I need phosphate/alkalinity? I will stick to Tetra brand.

Basically ...Heeeelp
    THANKS!!
    Kris

2. Shawnie

Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

im not a salty member kris but if you go to tetras official website, im sure you can find the directions

but I did find this if it will help at all  

3. Goldwing_Don

Goldwing_Don Well Known Member Member

there is no cards for KH/GH you put 5ml of tank water in the vas (each in their own vas) you add one drop at a time to it and your hardness is the # of drops it takes to change from one color to another for KH it is from BLUE to YELLOW and for GH it is from RED to GREEN.. yes your missing the instructions but its easy to do...5 ml of tank water and 7 drops of saltwater PH. NH3/NH4(ammonia is 14 drops of of #1, 7 drops each of 2 and 3 wait 20 mins and check the color, for NO2 its 7 drops of each and wait 2 - 5 mins check the color...

4. Shawnie

is that the same for salt & fw tanks don? just curious for future issues a member might have :)

5. Goldwing_Don

yes, you just use the one marked freshwater ph is the only difference

6. Shawnie

thank you!

7. OP
    OP
    m

Hi guys,
    Also found this ,

Not sure why it doesnt mention the tests for NH3/NH4 ( 1,2,3bottles):confused: