Mini-Bow 2.5 Aquarium...any comments?

TripleB
Now that my son (1 year old) has his fish tank set up, my daughter (11 years old) is wanting an aquarium for her room as well.

I've tried to talk her into the 3 gallon Eclipse tank my son has ( ) but she likes the following: . Mainly because it's colorful and the purple one will match her room.

Can anyone comment on the quality of this tank?

Thanks.

TripleB

luna
If you're gonna go with a Mini-Bow, get her the 5 gallon. It still comes in purple, but has more room for a heater, decor, and a FISH.

Also, purple is a wonderful color choice! Not that I'm...biased...or anything.

SereneReyn
I agree, try to get the 5g...

sckrik
i'm new to keeping freshwater fish and always read that these minI tanks are not recommended, but I never see specifically why. are they generally discouraged even if you're able to keep the water in healthy ranges with a couple of small fish?

angelfish220
It is harder to keep small tanks going but the main problem, at least the reason I don't like it, is they are really hard to keep stocked correctly, for example that 2.5 is probably to small for even a male betta! The only thing I can think that could fit in there is a lone dwarf puffer... maybe. and also sckrik, WELCOME TO FISHLORE

Triple B. Why don't you get the 5? even better you could get a 10 or twenty but I won't push it...

sirdarksol
In addition to the fact that the minI tanks really can't hold anything other than really tiny fish (of which there are only a few) or inverts, there is the fact that maintaining water chemistry gets easier with larger tanks. In anything smaller than a 20g, it takes quite a bit of work to keep water chemistry stable.

I agree that the 5 gallon would be good, unless you were going to do something that didn't need a heater and didn't need a lot of space (all I can think of are inverts, though).

sckrik