Milky water not cloudy though

Evad

Reaction score
Hello I'm a beginner, and I have a 30 U.S. Gal tank and the water seems very hard. Could this be a reason for "milky water"? I've used water clear from jungle with little result. Also I have a 30 gal. & 20 gal. filter on htis tank for optimum filtration. Thanks for any help!

Evad

Reaction score
Distilled water?

I started with distilled water, was that a mistake? I have an amonia meter, Ph meter and nitrite-nitrate meter; every thing is fine (Ph 6.6); but, my water is still milky. any suggestions? tank is 2months old with 2 filters and 3 arreators going.

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I do not know which area of the country you are from, but could the problem be your tap water?  How is it coming out of the tap?  In our area we are currently going through a period of water coming from the tap looking like milk.  If it is a tap water problem the water clarifiers may not work on them as the problem is chemicals, not particulate matter. 

There is also the chance that you may have a bacterial bloom which would not be cleared by the water clarifiers.  Could you tell us the test results for ammonia, nitrite and nitrates in your water and how much water are you changing in your aquarium and how often? 

How long has the tank been set up and what do you have in it?  If you haven't done so already, you should read the following article on the Nitrogen Cycle and starting up a tank.

https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm