Mid swimmers

1. R

Raginraven New Member Member

Hi I'd like to know if I would be able to get either a couple of mid swimming fish or a shoal of any besides neon tetras or swordtails and mollies for my 75 gallon tank.

Currently I have:
    1 veiltail betta
    4 Bolivian rams
    1 Bronze Cory
    2 Agazzisi Corys
    8 Venezuelan Corys
    2 adf
    5 Kuhli loaches

I have the tank at around 81.3-82.3
    And all readings are fine.

Also to note that my main concerns is regarding betta and ram, however, the betta is really peaceful so there's no problem with him but I rather not have someone that would bother him. As the rams nor the frogs bother him. I was looking around for some 1-2" fish but I can't seem to find any ideas online so I wanted to ask here as I'm quite new with community tanks.

Any suggestions really appreciated.

2. el337

el337 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to the forum :)

You really can't predict what fish will bother your betta. Even its current tankmates can eventually stress him out if he decides he doesn't like having them in the same tank anymore. If you're concerned about your betta being stressed, why not just move him to a separate tank by himself?

Also, your bronze and agassizi corys do best in groups of at least 6 of their own species. Further, the agazzisi and venezuelan corys need much cooler temps than what you are keeping the tank at. They like it around 74-75 and so do your rams. I would just keep the bronze corys and increase the shoal to at least 6. You can even get the albino and green color morphs since they are the same species as the bronze (aeneus).

Also, ADFs do better in a species-only tank.

As for mid dwelling schooling fish, what about rummy nose tetras, black neons or glowlight tetras?

3. OP
    OP
    R

Thank you for the welcome ^^.