10 Gallon Tank Messed up cycle?

batmanbatman

hi! this is my first time posting so let me know if i’m missing anything.

i had an established 5.5 gallon tank with a betta, a mystery snail, a sponge filter and lots of plants for about 7-8 months. yesterday, i decided to transfer over to a 10 gallon.

during the transfer, i kept my betta and snail in a container with tank water and an airstone. my sponge filter was in tank water the entire time, and i moved a cupful of gravel into the new tank. after putting everything in, i tested the water and it read:

ph: 7.4 (both my tanks have had 7.4 consistently)
nitrite: 2ppm
ammonia: .5ppm
nitrate: 5ppm

i did a 30% water change (tap water treated with prime) and nothing changed. i then added a capful of seachem stability and a tsp of aquarium salt (to protect from nitrate poisoning). i also moved over the sponge filter my established 20 gallon has, and an extra piece of media i keep in there.

i usually feed a couple granules of betta bug bites in the morning to my betta and a quarter of an algae wafer at night 2 times a week to my mystery snail. i haven’t fed since the move because i didn’t want to incite more ammonia.

the next day (just now) i tested again and everything was exactly the same. same parameters and everything. i’m at a loss. i don’t want to lose my betta but i don’t know what to do, or what i did wrong. water changes don’t seem to do anything and the extra media doesn’t either. please help!

mattgirl

Welcome to Fishlore

What are you using to test the water? These numbers shouldn't happen unless you have ammonia/nitrites/nitrates in your tap water. Moving filter and some gravel from the cycled tank should have prevented what you are seeing.

batmanbatman

i use the api master test kit. i’ve never tested my tap water for ammonia/nitrates/nitrites because i’ve never had this use when cycling any of my tanks
mattgirl said:
Welcome to Fishlore