Mean Platy Help

Discussion in 'Platy' started by Acatnamedphil, May 27, 2019.

1. Acatnamedphil New Member Member

I have 2 platys in a ten gallon tank and one is beating the other one up. It is a new tank so I let it cycle for about 2 months before I put fish in. I don’t know if either fish are male or female because I’m new to fish. I think it might be because I don’t have enough cover but I don’t know. I was planning on adding one or two platys after my bacteria grows a little more lat  er

2. Minxxy Valued Member Member

Bottom is a female, if you can get a better picture of top, with bottom fin open we can tell

3. Acatnamedphil New Member Member

Is that better?

4. Minxxy Valued Member Member

That may be male

5. Minxxy Valued Member Member

Ive tried to upload a picture for you but i have bad wifi right bow, Google sexing platty fish, you will see the difference

6. Acatnamedphil New Member Member

Ok thank you. I’ll look when I get home. The pictures on google help. If it is male would it be something about mating?

7. Acatnamedphil New Member Member

He’s definitely male. I haven’t noticed much more wounds so it could have been stress from putting them in the tank.

8. Minxxy Valued Member Member

:rolleyes: ya when i was cycling my tank i noticed some chasing by the male

9. Acatnamedphil New Member Member

The female is the one chasing. The male is missing a small piece of his tail again. He seems much more skittish. Should I add some more cover so he can hide a little easier?

10. Acatnamedphil New Member Member

I’m starting to notice the male chasing the female too. Idk if that means they are trying to kill each other or if he’s decided he’s had enough with the abuse. Should I be doing anything?

11. Momgoose56 Well Known Member Member